Reformed Catholicity

One of the great legacies of Dr. Jelle Faber, Canadian Reformed Theological Seminary’s first principal and dogmatics professor, was the plea for the church to maintain a robust reformed catholicity, along the lines of the creeds:  “one holy catholic and apostolic church” (I can still hear him enthusiastically reciting these words as he sped his way through the Sunday afternoon liturgy). Even though I never had the privilege of being his student in seminary, his preaching, public lectures, and writings left a deep impression on me since I was a boy, and have influenced my own preaching and teaching and pastoral ministry (including his habit of always including the Lord’s Prayer at some point in the Lord’s Day service). I guess that’s part of the reason that much of what James K. A. Smith writes here resonates with me.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doxologythots.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/reformed-catholicity/trackback/

