Apple Technology and the Apostle Paul

As our family was reading Acts 28 at the dinner table recently, my son asked me why Paul would have sailed on an Alexandrian ship with the figurehead of the twin gods Castor and Pollux. “For the same reason that I use Apple technology,” I answered.

There’s a lot–a whole lot–I don’t like about “the cult of the Mac”, and I certainly do not consider myself among “the Apple faithful”, at least not in the religious sense. I have to regularly check my heart and my habits, and repent, when I slip up. Yet, I will gladly use, for God’s glory and in the service of my neighbour, the fine quality devices that Apple has designed and manufactured.

I believe this is right in line with the way God and his Son have historically put worthless idols to a more useful purpose than their creators, even the brilliant ones like Steve Jobs, had in mind. There’s something of God’s delightful humour and wisdom showing through here.

Published in: on October 12, 2011 at 12:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doxologythots.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/apple-technology-and-the-apostle-paul/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

